Throwback: Master P Interview from F.E.D.s magazine

Shoutout to Feds for this one!

FEDS: Sitting here with Master P, what’s happening?

Master P: Just Chillin, that’s it, glad to be alive, and free from the judicial system. I’m glad to be free in mind- knowing that I don’t have to live like some people- looking over my shoulder, having cops constantly pull me over or just grinding, worrying about where I’m going to get my next dollar. You know what I’m saying? So I definitely feel I gotta second chance at life, cause where I come from-growing up in the Calio(Calliope) Projects, where all my homies, got killed or are in jail right now for life- and they’re never ever going to have a chance.

I just think that I’m one of the chosen ones that got lucky and ran with it, but I’m never going to forget where I came from. I’m always going to give back, but I’m never going to look back. I’m definitely on an all time hustle right now. I’m on a high just hustling. People are like “P, why you work so hard?” and I say “I come from nothing-I just came from the gutter.” I come from where you have to get it how you live. It’s just real, and at the end of the day, you have to be real with yourself. You have to be really real with yourself. I’m just happy, and I know there’s a man up above, because if it wasn’t I wouldn’t be here.

FEDS: What high school did you go to?

Master P: I went to Booker T. Washington high school. My school was in the middle of the hood, right in the middle of the Calio Projects. If you lives in the Calio you had to deal with whatever, you had to deal with your hood, then you had to go to school with kids from Magnolia Projects, Iberville Projects, or Lafayette Projects. We went to school with all the different projects.

FEDS: Were those terrible projects?

Master P: They were definitely terrible projects, but if you go to New Orleans the Calio is definitely the most notorious project, as far as drugs, and murders. If there were 400 murders in New Orleans about 150 happened in the Calio Projects. People live for stripes in New Orleans. They definitely live for stripes. Sometimes you don’t know who done did what, or who’s really doing what. If one person did a killing-he’s going to get the rap of the next person that come up missing also. So I can say I do come from the most well respected projects in New Orleans as far as street hustling and the game. Some of the biggest kingpins came from where I’m from. I have people right now in my “No Limit Family” that are in prison for life, and they represent this forever.

FEDS: Name a few…

Master P: Nap was one of the most notorious gangsters ever to survive in New Orleans, he ended up getting life. Meatball, Glen Meut, Marlo, I mean these are definitely the most notorious of New Orleans. These guys ran the city, and if that was how it had to go, then that’s how it had to go. It was a sad life. And me, I was always just a little kid trying to get my hustle on, you know what I’m saying? I kind looked up to them and there were a lot, I could go on-Pitching Bob, Dip, Little Carl, Poppin Boo. We definitely had the best of the best gun slingers and dope dealers, my cousin Hot One, who’s out now. He did eight years on a murder. And my other homie Anthony we call him Big Boss, did a five year bid. Now I’m able to take them out of that system and show them how we’re doing it now.

We’re doing it now by thinking, and it aint no going back. I told them we’re going to get this money and it’s gonna be legit, and we’re going to make corporate America respect us. I think that’s what life is about now. It ain’t about the hustler, it ain’t about the glam. Like I said real hustlers will lose it and get it back easy. I think because of this rap music we’re all starting to see the bigger picture, from my project-to Magnolia, and we’re all starting to come together. I’ve been reading FEDS magazine, and before this, you wouldn’t have known what was going on in New Orleans, for real.

Oh yeah, another notorious man was one of my cousins, Randall Watts, he was a notorious hit man in New Orleans. When you would say that name people would just run. A couple of years ago he was killed, that’s how it is. You just sit down and you say,”DAMN!” But he killed people too, so I guess that’s how the game goes. You know how it goes, you get caught up in the judicial system, and now you ain’t carryin your gun, because you have a case and then someone shoots you.

That’s how I had a run in with Gangster(Slim and Baby of Cash Money’s brother) but I didn’t know him and he didn’t know me. He probably thought I had a problem with him, but people started pointing fingers saying, “Oh he did it.” It’s sad, but that’s how we live, and he ended up not having anything to do with it, but at the time that’s how it goes. If somebody thought you had something to do with it, then that was how it had to be. My thing is I’m just so glad to be at this stage, able to come from a lifestyle like that. It made me solid, which is how I can survive in this side of the business, because I went through that lifestyle.
I mean, I definitely get on my knees and pray. I’ve changed my life. I used to be a part of this thing called the “Tuesday Crew”. Whenever Tuesday came it was on. The reason we started that was–one day when we’re kids growing up in the projects, you know. Before I was Master P, I was Percy Miller. I was respected. I made it so my little brothers could come outside. If they didn’t respect me, then they weren’t going to respect them, I’m the oldest in my family. One day we were going to the movie theater. I’m getting my money on, I’m trying to do it on a small level. I aint really no big time or nothin like that, but I’m 17, I got a nice little car, and I’m trying to get at this honey.

I park my car by the project, and we catch the bus. But I got this big ol’ “Percy Miller” medallion on. Me and Dukes, that was one of my little partners. (He just got killed, like two months ago, he tried to change his life. His real name was Bruce. It was me, Bruce, Darnell, Johnny, Clooky, Chris, and my brother Kevin. We were the “Tuesday Crew”. We were some youngsters, but we liked to get out there with out little motorbikes, doing our thing. But you know how the game goes, once you got something, someone has to get out there and try to take it. They want it the easy way.) Anyway, we’re going to the show with our little girlfriends. Then “BAM!” Out of nowhere some guy we didn’t know, probably from another project, came up, “Give it up!” We ain’t have no heaters on us or nothing, it’s all in my car (and it’s on Tuesday). In New Orleans when this happens someone is going to get blasted. (P then begins to explain how he had on a big black leather coat, he put his hands in his jacket, and bluffed the kid. That was their turning point, they all wild out after that.)

FEDS: How many of the Tuesday Crew are still living?

Master P: About two. That’s where the “uuuuunh” came from. I have a song on a album called “Whoodie Gone, What We Gone Do Now”, because I got homies that were real gangsters in the street, but in the end you don’t live forever. You go to jail, or you get killed, that’s just the rule book. I had one little homie trying to start a record company called “Tuff Guy Records”. He did his thing, but at the end of the day he just couldn’t make that big change. He had one foot in, and one foot out. He ended up just getting killed like a couple of months ago, and he almost changed his life. When you have that New Orleans lifestyle and you done slung that iron, it eventually comes back at you. But a lot of them respect me, because they say, “P looked at the bigger picture.” Man I think everybody got to respect it down south. P said it, “Go make the money off the white folks, that’s where the real money’s at.” All the high rollers I mentioned, and none of them had the type of money that I’ve seen. I think anyone that’s been out on the streets hustling can definitely run a business. Anybody that’s been in jail, I’ve been there, and working. They’re getting contacts. They’re getting prepared, so when they get out they’re gonna do they right thing. I mean people don’t realize how many contacts you meet in jail. I don’t feel like I’m better than none of these guys, I just got a break, and I don’t mind accepting that break.

That’s my thing with my little brother C. I’m just trying to teach him, “Dog, you can’t live like that anymore, you have to educate yourself. You have to move on in order to survive for these kids.” All these guys on your magazine covers were kingpins, at the end of the day, you have to mourn for them, you mourn for them. These guys were doing it out there, but they were doing it in a game you can’t hold on to, ya know.

At the end of the day they’re ghetto-superstars, or ghetto-heroes, but in society they aint payin no taxes, so they’re nobody. They mean nothing to the judicial system. That’s why we have to make this change down here, we have to educate. Once you get a second chance at life, you can’t look back no more. That’s the message I want to send to all these homies that’s locked up, especially the one’s on the streets that are constantly losing homeboys and home girls.

And it’s some tough chicks out here, who are real that are running these blocks. You think it’s some *****s, and it’s the chicks. Like I mentioned the man Glen? Him and his old lady are both serving life sentences. One of my other homies Paul Hauly, that was a big ol’ case down in New Orleans. He got a life sentence. He was doing something with this police lady, and they ended up taking her to jail too. She was killing people and everything. Even Kane & Abel’s uncle, I had to end up letting Kane & Abel go…because of that. They were trying to tie it to me, because of my little cousin I told you about, Randall Watts, was his man. But that doesn’t have anything to do with me. I just got these guys on my record label. It’s a shame, I had to change my life, because having those ties, can definitely put you in a bad situation. I had to go into the feds with Johnny Cochran. I had to go in there–Dog everywhere I went they were there. When I bought my house, they were there. When I got on the plane, they were there. Especially once I did the deal with Death Row Records(SUGE) everywhere I went, they were trying to figure out something. I was like, “Man, it’s just business with me.” If someone gets incarcerated you’re going to sell the stuff you have. That’s how hustlers do it. We’re trying to survive. We’re trying to see how we’re going to pay the lawyer, and how we can keep what we’ve got going on in the streets. With me and Suge, it wasn’t nothing but a respect thing. I respected him for doing what he had to do. And when he did what he had to do with it, I was like, “Say Dog look here, I got a couple of dollars if you gonna give that(SNOOP) to Sony let me have it.” And they couldn’t understand that.

Then by helping some of the homies I mentioned–they were like, “If P’s trying to help one of these little homies, he must be giving back to the game.” No I’m giving back to people that been there for me, and I definitely want to see them change their life. I had to go in there and explain it to the Feds with Johnny Cochran, “If you got something on me, take me and lock me up. If you don’t, just leave me alone, because I’m trying to change my life. You can’t judge me for what someone else is doing. These are people that I grew up with. These are people that I know. If I do something wrong take me to jail. If I take that chance take me to jail. I’m trying to do right.” With the help of the man upstairs they started to see I was trying to do right. And if you ain’t right, I’m cuttin you off. I would rather give my homies a couple of dollars, and tell them to keep walking, because this is all I got. I’m ready to die for this. I ain’t gonna disrespect the game. I definetly want to see you have something. I’ll give you a couple of dollars, because I’m a real hustler. You can make something out of that, and change your life. If you don’t, and you go out there and buy some drugs, and get knocked off selling them, that’s on you. I’m giving this to them to give them a chance because I figured they would do the same for me. Now if you’re gonna come over here and bring that same lifestyle over here, you can’t hang over here. This aint the hood over here. I have artists that aint into that lifestyle, and I can’t bring you around them. That’s real for me.

About Vic Da Rula

What more can I say? I enjoy Hip Hop, Sports, and living the good life! var a2a_config = a2a_config || {}; a2a_config.linkname = "Escobar300(Covering Hip Hop Culture, Sports, and Events)"; a2a_config.linkurl = "https://escobar300.wordpress.com/";
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

