Scarface breaks down his albums Part III

When you hear me talking about the Feds trying to make me flip, that’s not just an album. The Last Of A Dying Breed is a document. We had a lot of friends that we were close to that were dibbling and dabbling in that other shit. Well, these fucking drug agents have a hard-on for James [Prince] so bad until they just grabbed people around him. These motherfuckers even sent a snitch at me. But when the snitch didn’t get shit, they put his ass wherever the fuck he’s at in Pennsylvania. Feds trying to get you to say some shit that you don’t know nothing about.

A lot of brothers went down in ’99 from people telling. A motherfucker wasn’t even doing any dope back then…I was strictly doing music. I may have smoked a little weed, but not enough to run a dope house. What the fuck I look like touring all over the country and selling millions of records and jeopardizing my family and my children behind some funky ass cocaine? That’s just some racially motivated shit. James told me, ‘You have to expose their ass.

People talk about how great The Fix album is. It took me long enough to be called one of the greatest, right? I think “Heaven” really stands out. There are two beats to the song. I had a track from T-Mix and a track from Kanye West. People love the beginning of the song. I mean they love it. But I love the switch up in the song. I took T-Mix’s song in the beginning and did some crazy shit where I made a crazy backwards transition into the other “Heaven.”

By this time, I was the President of Def Jam South and extremely happy. I saw more fruits from my labor at Def Jam than I’d ever saw in life. I was getting dumb ass paid. I was like the newborn of the family. Any fucking thing that I could even imagine that I needed to do, I got it done. I’m proud to say I signed Ludacris. But there were a lot of groups that came through Def Jam that I brought that went unsigned that later turned out to be very successful. Before he was Rick Ross he was Teflon and I was trying to bring him to Def Jam. If you look at David Banner, Lil Flip, Pall Wall and Chamillonaire, Slim Thug, and T.I.—I tried to give all of them situations. But the powers that be left and I was stuck holding the bag.

Everyone that I came to Def Jam to be with had left. Lyor Cohen was my sole reason for going to Def Jam. I remember in 1991 during the Public Enemy tour, Lyor came to Baltimore. We sat down at this table and Lyor made me an offer on my debut solo album. But I was so fucking loyal to J. That could have changed my life. It was an astronomical amount of money, back then. I didn’t know that kind of money existed in the rap biz.

Balls and My Word had nothing to do with me. That’s all shit that didn’t make the other albums. All the shit from the 1990’s—the bulk of my career at Rap-A-Lot. I was very pissed that they released it. It was just a blatant move of, ‘Fuck you, nigga.’ It was a blatant disrespect to me. And the coldest part about that shit? I still aint seen a royalty check from it.

I came back to the Geto Boys because there was a little money on the front end for me. I sat down and created this album mostly by myself. If you look at the production credits, I did a lot of those records.

Again, this had nothing to do with me. This is something you have to talk to James about. But I was totally not on board with this shit. However, I got smart. I started taking all my hard drives and shit away from the studio [Laughs].

I never had to force myself to be something I wasn’t to sell records. That’s never what I’ve been about. I’ve always stayed true to what I do even on the more commercial records. But you will be surprised where I find some of my inspiration from. I have a cousin named Johnny Nash, who is probably one of the biggest singers ever. Google him. We have had conversations on a regular bases where we talked about life. But I just started getting into his music recently. When I started downloading his shit from Amazon I found out he was a bad motherfucker and I was mad at him [laughs]. He never told me how good he was. He was the first and maybe the last act to move to Jamaica and sing American lyrics over reggae music. He was fucking phenomenal, man. And he never had to change who he was. I come from that. Like I said, I come from music.

I was contractually obligated to record nothing but this album. I couldn’t put anything out. I got a cease and desist put on a group I was trying to produce. Oh, you would be surprised. This was not a good time for me in all honesty. But I think I performed pretty well under pressure. I’ll say again. I’m a musician. I just don’t fucking rap. This is not an accident. I play a lot of my songs and I’m not talking about going to the machine and pushing play. I can pick up a guitar and play it; pick up a piano keyboard and play it; pick up a xylophone and play it. Any fucking thing that can make some noise that I can play will get played. I’ve been playing instruments all my life. I want to bring music back. That’s going to be the sole responsibility for me, right now. I have the opportunity to be the person to help save music logic.

A lot of stuff out today is just a bunch of electronic noise. What happened to the horn section, the live basslines and the guitar player shaking in the pocket? Whatever happen to the drummer staying in the pocket? Shit, what happened to the pocket? [laughs] I remember growing up, 75 percent of the people in my neighborhood knew how to play something, even if it was just a fucking drum. Remember when it was cool to bring your band instrument home for practice? We have to bring that back.

I recently dropped a mixtape called Dopeman Music. And I’m working on a new album, which will be my first independent release. I’m thinking about calling it The Habit. I’m just going to tell my side of the story; just the absolute truth. You know how a lot of people get on their records and they are scared to tell the world how they really feel? Or they scared to tell the world what they are going through? Well, this is a tell all. This album will explain the shit that I’ve been up against.

This has been one of the best articles I’ve read in a long time and it gives a insight on what period Face was dealing with when he was recording those albums. Prince J must REALLY be seriously connected to have been strong arming Face’s brand like that but nevertheless He’s still a top 10 emcee without question!

About Vic Da Rula

What more can I say? I enjoy Hip Hop, Sports, and living the good life! var a2a_config = a2a_config || {}; a2a_config.linkname = "Escobar300(Covering Hip Hop Culture, Sports, and Events)"; a2a_config.linkurl = "https://escobar300.wordpress.com/";
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scarface breaks down his albums Part III

  1. Pingback: BackPackRap Throwback: ScarFace – It Aint Pt. 2 | Back Pack Rap

  2. Pingback: BackPackRap Throwback: ScarFace – It Aint Pt. 2 | So Stadium Status

Leave a Reply

