My Top 5 favorite Hip Hop Love Songs

People have always mislabeled the Hip Hop Culture as a Culture full of misogynistic, arrogant and ignorant self Calvinistic pigs who have made millions off disrespecting women.

Rappers have always professed their love for Pimp Culture or being a playa and the results of that were critics, politicians, Activists, and many other critics have takened turns in bashing Hip Hop over the past 30 years and thats mainly due to the fact that many see the Culture has been nothing but a representation of exploitation of women.

My response is YES. Hip Hop has a lot of music disrespecting women and calling women hoes and bitches but what the people mainly the critics fail to understand is that there are just as many hip hop songs that are praising women for the wonderful mothers, wives, providers, and quote and quote “Ride or Die chicks”. I thought I take this blog and post up some of my top 5 favorite songs dedicated to Women so the ladies can feel the love as well.

The thing about a lot of these songs for the women these days is that a lot of them are WACK!. They are either force-fed to the masses to sell records or they just come off very uneasy and in many cases(For hardcore rappers especially) very awkward. A lot of the records that are released today don’t feel authentic. They feel that they are made just to sell records because its like Tupac told Biggie at the beginning stages of his career: “Bitches Buy the Album, The niggas will follow”. So all you up and coming rappers, If you want to make a really dope song for the ladies then sit back and take notes from the veterans:

With that being said.. I’m gonna start off with my #5.

This song right here is UNRELEASED and I don’t understand why! Prodigy was straight spitting some serious game on this track here. The way P paints this description about meeting this chick, getting up with her and flowing with her takes me back to the days where rappers were spitting the flyness on record and not on no corny tricking bullshit.

If I could name some of the best hip hop songs for the ladies, Wu Tang would probably take at least 3 or 4 spots because the Wu in spite of their Shaolin, Kung Fu 5%er spitting dialogue proved to be some serious game spitters. I remember when Wu Tang came out and people out here were thinking these guys were nerds because of all of the Kung Fu references in their raps. Well this song shows the Wu’s versatility and that they can make some really ill cuts for the ladies without it sounding too commercial. Ghostface really spazzed on this cut:

But you sexy mothafucka, DAMN what’s the recipe?
You make a nigga wanna GOD DAMN
Can you cook, darling? At the stove you revolvin?
Bake macaroni, turkey wings, a nigga starvin
Here take my number, let me pull a chair for you under
I had fun plus your backyard speak with thunder

This is probably one of the best ghetto love songs of all time. This song not only show Biggie’s brilliant storytelling but also his very epic but also mixing up his detailed description of the ups and downs with his Girlfriend at the time(The one before Faith). This song probably stands out as the most brutally honest out of the songs I picked.

Many people looked at Tupac’s Can U Get Away as one of the softest songs in his catalogue. The song maybe Pac’s softest but this is probably one of his best as well. This came at a time where Pac was going through a lot in his life and you can feel the honesty and sincerity that he was expressing on Can U Get Away. This song is also beautiful because it showed Pac’s sensitive side as he plays the role of a prince charming trying to lure this woman away from a domestic relationship. He’s probably one of the few brothas that can put out a song like this and not be looked upon as soft or simpish.

I know people are thinking Damn Esco.. This supposed to be a top 5 not a top 6! Well my response is that this is my blog and I can do what I want with it! lol But anyways I had to add this classic from DMX because it took me back to the year where I was trying to mack on a High School sweetheart. This song use to get crazy play at school and it showed that X can spit some game to get the ladies as well. People were looking at X as this dark, violent ass nigga but once he put this song out, He became a heart-throb for the female demographic. This video showed how to approach a chick and mack to her on the streets as well. Take notes fellas!

What Hip Hop head WOULDNT put this as the number one all time hip hop ghetto love song? The rough version on Meth’s album was ok.. It was just too rugged. The Puff Daddy remix at the time was too commercial but this version here pushed Method Man to Superstardom and made him a Hip Hop Sex symbol. What was also interesting about this song is that it showed that You don’t have to walk around with your chest naked on some LL shit to get love from the females. Here was Method Man, A grimey, rough looking dusthead with a glass eye from Shaolin spitting some of the deepest game out of all the songs Ive chosen. He was spitting the game the women love to hear:

Now that’s real to a brother like me baby
Never ever give my pussy away and keep it tight aight
And I’ma walk these dogs so we can live
In a fat ass crib with thousands of kids
Word life you don’t need a ring to be my wife
Just be there for me I’m a make sure we
Be livin in the fucking lap of luxury
I’m realizing that cha didn’t have to fuck with me
But cha did now I’m going all out kid
And I got mad love to give, you my nigga

This song also further laid Mary J Blige’s claim of the Queen of Hip Hop soul as her hook was like icing on the cake and it appealed to the women showing that she’s willing to be there for her man. They flipped the Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell track into a grimy hip hop love jones like classic. Nobody including the hardest brothers on the streets or in the jail cells couldn’t even say a bad thing about this track here.

So the bottom line is Hip Hop is a balance of both positive Energy and Negative Energy. People have gotten so accustomed to hearing the negative energy via Mainstream media(Especially with Misogony in this Country and Black Men) that they tend to forget the millions of hip hop records that were made phrasing women and giving the ones that deserve it the love and admiration they deserve. Thats one of the reasons why this blog was made to balance out both of the imbalances. So enjoy these cuts with your ladies and I’m out for the week!

About Vic Da Rula

What more can I say? I enjoy Hip Hop, Sports, and living the good life! var a2a_config = a2a_config || {}; a2a_config.linkname = "Escobar300(Covering Hip Hop Culture, Sports, and Events)"; a2a_config.linkurl = "https://escobar300.wordpress.com/";
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

